Tags

Two years ago last month I published my first book through 21st Century Christian, entitled 12 Compelling Truths. Once I saw the finished product, I felt an enormous sense of joy. One of my friends at the company said that writing a book and seeing it through to publication was like giving birth. Since I’ve only been part of the birthing process as an observer, I had to take her word for it.

Ecclesiastes 12:12 says, “Of making many books there is no end.” In my case, that’s absolutely correct. I’ve got several dozens of book projects sitting on my computer, all in various stages of completion. Unfortunately, hardly any of them are more than half done, and most will go no further. My laptop is a digital graveyard for ideas that once enthralled me for a short time but failed to bear any fruit.

I have a couple of other projects ready to go to publishers now, and in about another year or so I hope to be able to announce them. I also plan to produce a couple of books on Kindle But for the time being I want to offer a word of warning. There are many books made today. And not all of them contain material that is wholesome or beneficial. But above all else, if I had one thing to say to fellow Christians is this: read everything critically.

We should use the power of our minds to evaluate what we read. The apostle John wrote, “Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world” (1 John 4:1). In other words, carefully examine the authors whom you read or the teachers to whom you listen to ensure their messages are in keeping with what has been revealed through God’s Word. The truth is far too precious to allow it to be crowded out by cheap imitations.